Skip navigation

A couple of weeks ago, I received a lovely new Resident Evil 5 XBox 360, which I pre-ordered from Game.

But for some reason, I now find myself wondering about the potential uses of the wired headset that came with it, instead of actually playing on it.

So, I ask myself: “How do I hook it up to my laptop? I want to use it for Skype!”

The headset, for those who don’t already know, features a 2.5mm stereo jack which plugs into the wireless controller for use with online gaming. This makes it reasonably friendly for people who want to put it to other uses…

But- my laptop doesn’t have a 2.5mm stereo jack… It’s got a veritable wealth of standard 3.5mm ones, but no 2.5mm.

For reference, a picture. Taken with the less-than-trusty webcam:

Jack size comparison

6.35mm (1/4"), 3.5mm, and 2.5mm Stereo Jacks.

If you have a mobile phone with a stereo jack for handsfree, chances are that’ll be a 2.5mm one. You could probably make calls with it. Hell, you could probably plug it in and use the Bluetooth Audio Service to connect it to the PC! But I don’t have one of those phones, so that wasn’t an option. [EDIT: Actually, I think phones have a 4 pole jack… but it might still work.]

I’ll go for the hard-wired approach:

Maplins Electronics was my first port of call. I quickly found what I was looking for. A female 2.5mm stereo socket.

That sorts the connection of the headset onto something I can wire. Next, I need to split the Speaker and Microphone up.

Effectively, I need two 3.5mm Mono Jacks– one for the speaker, one for the mic. Maplins again.


It should be fairly simple to sort out which connection is the mic and which is the speaker. I’ll test it by holding the wires to an audio signal source… my laptop, playing music out through the speaker output, for instance.

Anyway, I’ll solder it all together when I get the chance. Watch this space.


So, want Part 2?

 

One Comment

  1. This blog’s great!! Thanks :).


One Trackback/Pingback

  1. […] 360, audio, Electronics, headset, XBox Ok, so I began this little "how to" in this post way back in March, and I’ve finally gotten around to buying the parts (i.e. had time) and […]

Leave a Reply

